I Might Believe in Faeries
I Might Believe in Faeries
R. A. Lafferty: The Grumpy Old Man from Tulsa (ft. Gregorio Montejo)
0:00
-1:36:14

R. A. Lafferty: The Grumpy Old Man from Tulsa (ft. Gregorio Montejo)

Raphael Aloysius Lafferty was an author, a teller of tall tales, and a Catholic from Tulsa, Oklahoma. Gregorio Montejo of Ktistec Press and I discuss Lafferty's fiction, his life, his unique storytelling style, and why no one has ever heard of him (or have they?). We compare Lafferty's style to another famous Catholic speculative fiction author, Gene Wolfe. Wolfe even said that Lafferty is "our most original writer". Lafferty's fiction defies classification.  Ktistec Press publishes Feast of Laughter: An Appreciation of R. A. Lafferty and has two new books coming out soon. One is called The Wolfe’s Lair - Critical Essays on Gene Wolfe and the other is In a Green Tree by R. A. Lafferty. Both will be bought by me (and hopefully you too). Ktistec Press' books can be found on Amazon.  Gregorio Montejo's Twitter is @KtistecPress Books Mentioned: Past Master Fourth Mansions In a Green Tree ************************************************************************************************************* Follow me on Twitter @AaronIrber Donate to my Patreon - I Might Believe in Faeries https://www.patreon.com/imightbelieveinfaeries Like my Facebook page - I Might Believe in Faeries Battle Of The Creek by Alexander Nakarada | https://www.serpentsoundstudios.com Music promoted by https://www.free-stock-music.com Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Logo Art by Linnea Kisby *************************************************************************************************************

0 Comments
I Might Believe in Faeries
I Might Believe in Faeries
This is a podcast about stories, myths and Catholicism. Stories are how we orient ourselves in the world. In Catholicism, we believe in the Greatest Story: Christ crucified and resurrected. We participate in His story through ritual worship; the liturgy. Even in the Catholic Church, these truths are often forgotten or ignored. My mission for this podcast is to explore storytelling, myths, and how these fit into Catholicism. I will cover Catholic fantasy and science fiction authors, mythology, folklore and the Catholic faith.